News & Press

Old Reigatian RFC

2021 National Champions U18 Girls England Touch

On Sunday 22nd August six of our U18 girls from Old Reigatian RFC entered the National England Touch Rugby Competition representing U18 girls ‘Taipans' for South East (SETA).

U18 Taipans have only been playing together since beginning June after they were selected at trials in May. The team was composed of players from all over the South East and they have committed to many hours of training during the summer.

They started strong showing their training was paying off with a fantastic win 5-0 v Midland Tigers.

Up next were North West Blades. If anyone was going to test the girls’ skills it was this team but once again the girls came out strong and kept their focus resulting in a brilliant 3-1 win.

The last team Taipans had to defeat were the West Wildcats. From the outset the Taipans were formidable, demonstrating a united team spirit. By the time the final whistle blew they had won 8 – 1.

As this was a round robin competition and had won all three games they had to play North West Blades again in the final. Even though Taipans had won all their games, if they were defeated in the final, the cup wasn’t coming home!

The atmosphere was tense on the sidelines. At half time the score was still 0-0 with both teams showing strong defensive lines. The whole team had to dig deep in the second half and they put on a magnificent performance which resulted in a 3-0 win crowning them.

2021 NATIONAL CHAMPIONS U18 GIRLS ENGLAND TOUCH. The cup definitely came home!!!

I would like to thank SETA Head coach Andy Penniceard, Old Reigatian coach Drew Gibson, U18 Head coach Carl Hassan and Lee Hodges for giving this opportunity for our players to perform at this level. It goes without saying a big thank you for the many hours they have given to the girls and boys to get them competition ready.

Here’s to next year. Please turn up on a Monday evening if anyone would like to play (age 14 +) Touch Rugby. 19.15-21.00 at the club.

From left to right: Laila Hassan, Toni Norman, Lauryn Walter, Olivia Rawlinson, Ella Brady, Florence Kirsten- Foster

More news from ORFFC
Scroll to Top